You are here:

Codex Alimentarius Commission

The Codex Alimentarius Commission was established in 1962 as a joint instrument of the World Health Organisation (WHO) and the Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) of the United Nations. Its primary goals are to protect the health of consumers by elaborating international food standards and to guarantee fair practices in the international food trade. Today, the Codex Alimentarius Commission has 165 Member States.


External Links

Codex Alimentarius
Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO)
World Health Organisation (WHO)


BfR reports to the Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture (BMEL)


Our Mission Statement

"Science to serve humanity" is the guiding principle of BfR.

Cookie Notice

This site only uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more on how we use cookies in our Data Protection Declaration.